Noob Looking to build a - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th April 2012, 04:27 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Noob Looking to build a

I'm a noob, never built any speaker systems in my life.
For my first project, I'm looking to make a relatively small stereo speaker system, preferably passive. Sort of like head phones. The idea is to be able to put it in the side pockets of a backpack, or attach it to a bike.
I want to use the standard 3.5 mm headphone jack as the hookup, so this is essentially a headphone redesigned to use bigger speakers.
I'd like to use 3.5" speakers, preferably no bigger than 6"

Any suggestions for a noob on how to get started with this?
Old 15th April 2012, 06:10 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

You will need an amplifier if you are driving external speakers. What is your intended audio source?
Old 15th April 2012, 06:29 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Well ..er...he said 'passive' .
I don't understand the term ' system ' .
Usually it's used when there's more than one loudspeaker ( in one cabinet )
So you say : two way/three/four way speaker system as there is something
that put those elements in connection , to make one unit.
Also a speaker system ,intended as a source for playing stereo or multichannel records
in a room ,so the speakers and the room become ...one .

And also , as ChicJTW intended , a system is something that you connect and it does something , it has some purpose ,and study behind , so an amplified
speaker ( or two , for stereo .... ) has some features that may be defined