Amplifier First Run Burn In ?. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 9th February 2011, 05:31 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Amplifier First Run Burn In ?.

Ok, first off - I make no claim or comment about the subject of component or cable burn in, but would like to relate some experience.

As a service technician I have repaired many, many amplifiers in my day.
Amplifiers fault for various reasons, and by far the most common root cause of failure is defective solder joint connections causing intermittent or sustained change in operating conditions of an amplifier stage that may or may not cause permanent failure of components.

Once faulty components have been identified and replaced, I then very commonly blanket (completely) resolder both amplifier channel stages in a stereo amplifier.
This process is to ensure future absolute reliability and is well proven in practice - I get paid to ship out a reliable amplifier and this is what the customer gets long term.

My usual practice for first run up is to power the amp via variac/series lamp combination (this catches any faults still present and prevents damage) and roughly set/check idling dc conditions.
I will then allow the amplifier to run for several hours (directly connected to 240V) to achieve thermal equilibrium, periodically checking and setting bias and offsets as required.
After this period and I am satisfied that all is well, I connect speakers and a source and give the amplifier a listening test.

I will run the amp at low level for half an hour and then take a careful listen.