RF & Audio

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First things first: define what you mean by "measuring the effects of RF."

Is this for a product design that will be used in many different environments? If so, there are lots of standards out there which give a guide to quantifying RF immunity.

Is this just for your own use? Then try to be realistic about the RF challenges you face, and apply sound engineering prophylaxis.

Is this troubleshooting or characterizing an existing piece of kit? If so, what are the issues? Random noise from time to time? Continuous degradation? Buzz? AM detection?

With a target, it's obvious where to aim things, even with those very misunderstood conventional test tools.

I have been working in audio electronics for a long time 50+ years. My full time job is an RF engineer (38 years) doing cell phone and two way radio design work. I have seen effects caused by RF devices affect the sound in subtle ways that are not easilly measured by typical steady state measurements in the audio band. I have also seen and chased "ghosts" where it looks like RF was affecting the audio equipment, but in reality the RF source was whacking the test equipment.

The worst offender is the cell phone. Here in the US there are several different cellular standards each with its own characteristics that affect things differently. All cell phones operate with 0.6 watts of RF power or less. Two way radios can also affect consumer electrical equipment.

Background information: