New Linear Audio publication!

I wonder how many who will build Bruno's preamp?
I was wondering that too.

Hello, as a silent LA reader I am kind of new to the party.

Anyway, Mr. Putzeys article was very inspiring; really love it ! It has already generated further ideas.

Right now I have no need to build this pre-amp because I did a design based on the Bill Whitlock circuit the article refers to. But instead of the THAT chip I used a quad LM4562 (LME49740). I think it really works great from what I have measured so far (>= 100dB CMRR between 50Hz and 1KHz). I did not do a "source imbalance immunity" test yet, though. Too lazy and busy with speakers.
But maybe I can use the new knowledge to improve my pre-amp later.

Yet, I was wondering about the component tolerances of Mr. Putzeys circuit. Wouldn't the low pass section compromise the CMRR of the diff amp ? Or is it simply presumed to buy a bulk of each passive component in that area of the circuit and match them ? Or is it a non-issue that my hobbyist eyes don't see ?

AX tech editor
Joined 2002
Paid Member
I was wondering that too.

Hello, as a silent LA reader I am kind of new to the party.

Anyway, Mr. Putzeys article was very inspiring; really love it ! It has already generated further ideas.

Right now I have no need to build this pre-amp because I did a design based on the Bill Whitlock circuit the article refers to. But instead of the THAT chip I used a quad LM4562 (LME49740). I think it really works great from what I have measured so far (>= 100dB CMRR between 50Hz and 1KHz). I did not do a "source imbalance immunity" test yet, though. Too lazy and busy with speakers.
But maybe I can use the new knowledge to improve my pre-amp later.