Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else
Home Forums Rules Articles Store Gallery Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2010, 09:58 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
DCPreamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Question Is AndyHiFiStore.com for real? Cheap McIntosh's?

While surfing and price-shopping, I ran across andyhifistore.com in Kent Wa, USA and in Ashtead Surrey, UK. They are supposedly selling McIntosh and Krell equipment for a fraction of their used market-value. Their stuff is deceptively cheap and just reeks of a scam. I called and emailed a couple times - shocking, no reply. I did some web searches and turned up a few obscure adds with similar equipment at equally suspiciously low prices. Finally, I contacted PayPal who replied with their usual, disgustingly neutral chain-letter reply of "PayPal neither endorses nor condemns blah blah. . ." I searched here too and found nothing.

Anyway, everybody would love to get a smokin' deal on a rare find of a great piece of audio equipment. But, if it looks and sounds too good to be true. . . So I figured I'd post it here and see what our community thought of it. Check it out and let me know what you think.
__________________
"Believers cling to the myth despite the evidence, reinterpret the myth to suit the evidence, or lie about the evidence to support the myth." "To err is human; to blame errors on external factors is even more so."
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 10:17 PM   #2
lgreen is offline lgreen  United States
diyAudio Member
 
lgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Diego, USA
Default scam?

Andy Hifi scam alert
__________________
My DIY audio projects- PartTimeProjects.com.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2010, 10:38 PM   #3
Bone is offline Bone  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dorset, UK
The UK address turns out to be a football (Soccer) club!!!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scosche SPL meter: Cheap find with potential, or cheap junk? theAnonymous1 Everything Else 5 11th October 2006 03:40 AM
Cheap finish for my cheap subwoofer? mazeroth Subwoofers 19 26th July 2004 01:47 PM
Combing effects: How real in "real" rooms? smeade1079 Multi-Way 3 10th March 2003 12:32 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 PM.

Page generated in 0.06620 seconds (67.18% PHP - 32.82% MySQL) with 10 queries

Copyright ©1999-2012 diyAudio