Acetone in gas tank

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
Who and why does spread the rumor?

probably manufacturers of acetone ;)

I'm not sure if it was one of the things that the mythbusters tested, but when they added mothballs to the tank of the engine they were running it had a dramatic effect.. revs increased and engine ran much smoother, though they were uncertain what the long term effects could be....

Tony.

Joined 2005
Paid Member
Hey all,

I am an engineer in the Petroleum Refining industry, and a bit suspect of the claims. I am not a Process engineer, but will ask one of the "Mole Counters" I work with regarding this claim.

It may be that the Acetone may affect the Octane (higher octane, more controlled combustion), but may have other nasty side effects...

Mothballs used to be made of Naphthaline (two fused benzine rings) which is a hydrocarbon and also may affect the Octane...

I will have to report back...also understand Acetone is probably pretty expensive. While you may have a benefit, you may be better off $$wise putting an after market gasoline additive, or buying premium gas.

One question begs asking, how do you get those little legs apart?

Last edited:
The other potential effect of acetone is to dry out any residual water in the lines.

The gas mileage increasing stuff is as full of absolute snake oil and BS as high end audio, so it's best to look at anything like that with the presumption that it's wrong. Otherwise, you have to believe that tens of thousands of people in the car business are engaged in a conspiracy to suppress a competitive advantage. And we know how likely it is that that number of people could keep a secret...

BTW, acetone will lower octane.