Measuring resistance while circuit is turned on - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th January 2009, 08:56 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Measuring resistance while circuit is turned on

I have no knowledge of how a digital multimetre works.

I wonder if I can measure resistance while the line level circuit is turned on and there is no signal going through the circuit, i.e. the voltages between the measured points are within 10mv difference.

I guess that this would not destroy the multimetre and the multimetre would probably give the right readings. However, I don't know if the multimetre would apply a voltage to the circuit or short the circuit that can destroy the circuit then may even destroy itself.

The line level circuit is my EQ network that contains many trimpots to adjust the speaker response. If I need to turn the circuit off before measuring any new adjustments, I would need to wait for a long time because I have a large capacitor bank (with breeding resistors installed). It is rather inconvenient.
Old 10th January 2009, 03:16 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi, although I don't really understand electronically what you describe, I am suggesting this nonetheless: Just short the caps with a low value resistor. Something like 47ohms at 10Watts. Do you have any idea what voltage are these capacitors charged with? that should give you a better idea of what type of resistor to use.