Seeking Career Advice

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good morning everyone,
I wanted to post this in one of the speaker forums, but in all reality, this is most likely where it belongs. I know we have a lot of professionals that frequent this forum and I can't think of a better place to pose this question where both pros and DIYers might be able to offer some input.

To make the extremely long story shorter, lets just say that I am slowly losing my mind in a dead end job currently and want to get back to doing something I truly love.

I love music. Specifically, I love anything that makes sound. That's pretty broad so let me explain a little more. When I was about 9 years old I started playing the clarinet. Then I moved on to the Piano, then keyboards, then guitar. I eventually learned to play a little alto sax, trumpet, and even a flute for a while. If I think hard, I believe I learned a few more instruments in there somewhere too. I was good enough with the clarinet by highschool to play in the all-state band jazz quartet. By college, i had stopped playing all of these. I moved out on my own and realized that I wasn't talented enough to be a performer of any merit, but I dearly loved it still. A freind had gotten me interested in car audio and while in college, I had a job as an installer at Circuit City. I moved on to Best Buy for a short stint before a great opportunity opened up for me. My father bought a stereo and custom shop in Myrtle Beach SC and I was asked to run it. I was 18, bright eyed and pretty stupid. The first few years were rough. I took a job at Electric Avenue to save the store enough money to forego my paycheck. A year or so later I won a huge account that got the shop moving. We made a ton of money with it and I got to do what I loved for the next 5 or so years. I didn't get to do everything I wanted, but I truly enjoyed working with R&D people from severa