SMPS troubleshooting - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2008, 10:21 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default SMPS troubleshooting

I'm new at this so please go easy on me.

I have an Akia 200watt SMPS that I have partially repaired. The supply powers a 27 inch lcd display. Originally it had 5v standby power only and would not turn on. Almost all of the output capacitors were domed and leaking. I replaced all of the output caps with low esr, high frequency caps of the same voltage and capacitance. Both main filter caps were replaced also.

The display now functions properly. 5v, 12v and 24v outputs appear good.

Unfortunately, the supply has a noticeable buzz coming from the center PQ3220 transformer when turned on. I do not know if the supply buzzed prior to the cap failure since the unit was given to me dead.

Perhaps the bad caps caused damage to other components?? I see no other visible damage. I have checked almost all other components in circuit (to the best of my ability) with a digital VOM and find nothing wrong.

Suggestions are appreciated. I'll attach a picture of the supply. Schematic is avialable here: http://www.turuta.md/PSU/LCT-2016.pdf
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 200wsmps.jpg.jpg (65.9 KB, 98 views)
Old 29th November 2008, 12:36 AM   #2
diyAudio Member