cut aluminum with regular router bit?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Any of you had experience cutting Aluminum with regular router bits, such as a rabbit bit?

I want to countersink overlapped tweeter/woofer.

At best, I imagine, the bit will be dulled faster. At worst, a piece of carbide will break off and turn into dangerous shrapnel...

I'll probably route into the plastic tweeter faceplate instead of the Al woofer frame, but, if I have to cut the Al, maybe I'll get a special spiral upcut solid carbide bit made for cutting Aluminum.

Cutting aluminum

I have been doing cabinet work and wood/metal work for about fifteen years. You can cut aluminum with any carbide tipped tool. If you can, slow the motor speed down and use a cooling fluid. Be sure to wear eye protection and long sleeves as the metal chips will be flying and they will be hot! I regularly cut 1/4" aluminum on the table saw with a normal wood blade. Just take your time and use a sharp bit. If you are careful and use a cooling liquid, the carbide will last just as long as with hardwoods.

--Rlabomb

Do *NOT* use a cooling liquid with carbide unless you can ensure that it will be completely quenched for the duration of the cut. Moderate amounts of coolant with a HSS bit is OK, but if you're using a carbide bit -- especially solid carbide, it's all or nothing.

And now with that out of the way...

Every material has a cutting speed, which is essential in calculating the ideal RPM that your cutter must rotate at in-order to achieve safe, and acceptable results. Therefore, if you're machining aluminum with a carbide bit, you would use an approximate cutting speed (CS) of 1000-2000.

Now you plug that figure into the formula used to calculate the RPM of the tool:

r/min = 4 x CS / Diameter of cutter

So if you were using a 1/2" carbide cutter, and wanted to run on the safest side of the speed requirements: