Passive Pre

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok so I build the passive pre from one of the members on this site. Granted I'm new to electronics, so bear with me. I built it inside an aluminum guitar foot pedal that was broken. I used silver wire, and 2 100K log pots ie: dual mono. I tried to use a 10K resistor but the output was too loud. I tried a 20K and even a 50K but still too much volume (I use a Aleph 30 as an amp). I also tested to make sure the ground was on the right post as well. On the wrong post it is loud right away. On the other it gradually gets louder, but still has way too much gain.

I have another passive made with a Alps Black Beauty 100K no shunt resistor just in and out the pot and it sounds better and is smoother than the one here. Am I missing something or should I use a different value pot? There is some buzz as well, with the shunt pre, but not with the single Alps Black Beauty Pot. I didn't use shielded wire.

Any help is appreciated.

Shunt Passive Pre

Hi LPD,