How to modify electric fence Output?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I need help.

I would like to keep my our (Rat Terrier & Boxer) out of wife's flower bed. I have an electric fence energizer (several years old "farm" variety) available to use. This is PULSE type,"weed burner", (and "5 mile" I think??). I can get make/model, photo, etc if it will help, and have digital multimeter to check output.

MY QUESTION: For a short fence with pets, how can I REDUCE voltage on the wire--I don't want to hurt them (physically or psychologically) just get them to stay out of the flower bed.

I was thinking about putting a resistor in-line, but don't know how many OHMS or whether to put in on "Fence" or "Ground" sides?

Any Ideas?

I used to work in the industry designing these things. Your pet WILL get hurt - thats the whole idea! But its not physical damage - just pain. To reduce the effective output use a 10 watt ceramic wire wound resistor in series with the 'hot' side of the output. A k or two would be about right. It MUST be a wirewound resistor - not film. Film types blow up if the fence arcs to ground. Wierd but true - short circuit is OK, arcs are not!

Test the fence on yourself before you unleash it on your dog. If the fence bites too hard, add more ohms. It wont kill you (they're designed not too . :D ) but it will hurt. Don't bother with the multimeter - it wont tell you anything useful, even if it survives.

Edit: just looked up the specs on that energiser. Its only half a joule output - thats pretty tame. I've been hit by bigger beasties than that. The 16kV peak might give your trouble with flashover - better make that two, or maybe three resistors in series. Be sure to use the BIG 10W ceramic ones.

TwoSpoons,
Points for clarification...