Electric Fence - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Everything Else

Everything Else Anything related to audio / video / electronics etc) BUT remember- we have many new forums where your thread may now fit! .... Parts, Equipment & Tools, Construction Tips, Software Tools......

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th July 2007, 01:35 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to DavidWardlaw
Default Electric Fence

I would like to build an electric fence around my garden so that animals do not enter it and eat all my vegatables. It's a very small garden (10' x 15') and every year animals enter it, especially at night and eat around half the vegatables (can't blame them, they are tasty). I have some experience in electronics and I have lots of parts laying around (batteries, wire, inductors, etc.). Does anyone know how I should go about doing this?
Old 7th July 2007, 12:54 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Do you want to fry them or just discourage them?

I_F
Old 7th July 2007, 01:08 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to DavidWardlaw
No, I do not want to fry them because I wouldn't want to deal with their dead bodies, just enough shock to shake them up a bit and discourage them from entering.
Old 7th July 2007, 02:52 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

If your DIY venture doesn't work out; I have a real electric fence box you can have.

I've had the thing for years and don't even remember where it came from. Pay for shipping and it's yours. I'll post a pic of it in a bit, my camera battery needs recharged.

EDIT: OK, here is a pic of it lighting up a neon tube so you can see that it works. Picture is blurry because it was hard to take the pic right as it lit up (intermittent output).

Click the image to open in full size.
Old 7th July 2007, 07:48 PM   #5
Speakerholic
diyAudio Moderator