Room Accoustics and Soundproofing

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
It's rarely the material choice itself so much as the way you put together the whole package that governs the isolation you can achieve between spaces. The knid of product you've linked to looks useful for certain properties, but it's not necessary to achieving great isolation. I'm an architect, and do get to specify this sort of thing regularly. Once you start aiming much over 40dB Rw then it's easy to destroy the performance by careless construction - it all goes to pot if you end up with unintended services penetrations, poor sealing or offcuts bridging the cavity(ies). On the other hand - it's quite straightforward to achieve 65dB+ of isolation with regular sheetrock and just a little care.

That comes from careful design and even more importantly, careful contruction. All major plasterboard/sheetrock suppliers have products optimised for acoustic control (ie increased density) or you can just add extra mass via more layers of regular sheetrock, but for high performance the use of resilient hangars, staggered/double stud consturction and internal damping (mineral fibre to damp the interstitial space(s) becomes much more critical than the board choice.

Have a good read of a book like F. Alton Everest's 'Master Handbook of Acoustics'. It's clearly and concisely written, and buying a copy will be a lot cheaper than making uninformed construction choices.

HTH!

Often the best sound insulation is also the best temperature insulation ... if your walls are not already insulated for heat/cold, do that first = saves $$ bucks on gas / electric bills, too. After your walls & ceiling are thermally insulated, then add the acoustic sound insulation as required.