free impedance converter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm no great programmer- couldn't even play one on TV. Regardless, here's a Windows version of a utility I've found handy for converting bridge results and vector impedance meter readings to a more useful form. It can also give more insights into the real meaning of Q, DF, and phase angle for common components. There's nothing here that any spreadsheet can't do, but I find a small dedicated utility a bit handier at times. Have a look and let me know if you see any horrific bugs, misspellings, or think of some feature I should add. There's room for lots more buttons :)

Z-verter Impedance Converter

Regards,
Conrad

Put up a new version with some bug fixes. Ditch the old one and grab the new one. (old version had atto and femto prefixes reversed) Added some more conversions, including current and voltage to value, so you can measure components with just a signal and AC voltmeter. If not doing it with a scope, just enter minus 90 degrees for capacitors, plus 90 for inductors. Same request- let me know if you find bugs or can think of anything useful to add. Or if it's just useless.

The symbols are pretty standard. The idea of the program is to convert any of the several ways of expressing impedance, into a standardized list containing all the forms.

The forms include component values like capacitance and dissipation, Z, the impedance consisting of resistance (R) and reactance (jX), Y, the admittance (reciprocal of impedance), consisting of conductance (G) and susceptance (jB), and vectors consisting of Z and phase angle. If you have any of the above types, you can calculate the other ones. They all give you the same information, but sometimes a certain form is more convenient.