Amp testing equipment - should terminators be used - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th April 2012, 12:26 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Amp testing equipment - should terminators be used

Hello, I'm new to amp testing and just purchased/awaiting a HP8903A Audio Analyzer and an Owon SDS6062 Oscilliscope. In the meantime I'm trying to get the appropriate cables and connections.

Question 1: Will I need to add a BNC terminator on the input side of the amp since the HP8903A output impedence is 600 ohms?

Question 2: Will I need a terminator on amp output side also? I plan on outputting the amp to the input side of HP8903A and teeing to SDS6062.

Question 3: If terminators are required what size (50, 75 or 600 ohm) will be needed? All cabling will be 75 ohm coax cable.

Thanks in advance for any advice!!!
Old 28th April 2012, 12:49 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

No terminators are needed or should be used. All you need is a load for the amp. Nor does the impedance of the coax matter. This is audio, not RF!
Old 28th April 2012, 01:33 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Good luck with the HP8903 -- Pete Millett has some software which extends the utility of the device. HP 8903 Software
Old 28th April 2012, 01:49 AM   #4
tomchr is offline tomchr  United States
diyAudio Member

No terminators needed on the HP 8903.

The only time you will need terminators is for square wave testing. That's not supported on the 8903, though. I use an HP 3312A function generator which has 50 Ohm output. To avoid ringing on the edges of the square wave, the terminator is needed. What many people tend to forget is that to get clean edge rates on a square wave, proper termination is needed as the edges require fairly high bandwidth to reproduce properly.