Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th February 2012, 12:47 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Best solder? where to buy?

Hi folks

This is my first post on the forum and I'd like to say hello to everyone if i may. I was wondering if people could give me some advice on which solder i should buy and the best (cheapest) place to buy it from in the UK please.

Im fairly new to electronics and soldering in general, so basically im starting from scratch. I've been saving up for a bit now and im about to purchase a nice JBC soldering station, and have been aquiring various other tools that i think i will need such as Lindstrom cutters, ck tweezers, magnifying glass, helping third hand etc. And i've been watching EEVBLOG's soldering tutorials on youtube.

My plan is to buy a diy amplifier kit to start with, and I would like to have a good stock of solder to last into the future so i want to make the right choices. I was thinking it might be a good idea to get various types such as:

Multicore 60/40 (0.5mm) 250g
Multicore 63/37 (0.5mm) 250g
and possibly a smaller amount of cardas quad eutectic

However there seem to be a lot of slightly different specs in those solders and its a bit confusing which variations i should go for ie percentage of flux, no clean, number of cores etc and i notice that some are cheaper than others even though they appear to be identical in specs/brand (from the same website)

So if anyone can give me some advice on exactly which to go for, what not to go for, and where from for best price with links, I'd really appreciate it please bearing in mind i'm in the UK.

Thanks
Old 28th February 2012, 01:01 AM   #2
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

Stargeezerme welcome to the forum!