Low-distortion Audio-range Oscillator - Page 266 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th May 2013, 05:18 PM   #2651
diyAudio Member

I don't like their "no settling time"; the trouble with that is that if the gain control element (here an unspecified photoresistor) reacts fast enough, and the LED controlling it is bound to, at ultra low frequencies the gain changes in each half cycle (= distortion). I agree that the 'bounce' in level as you change frequencies with a thermistor one, like the one I've been using for the last forty years (to the point where the batteries it needed became unavailable and I was forced to build it a mains power supply), can be annoying, but not intolerable, but I'd prefer this to not trusting the distortion below a hundred Hz.

Driving the output from a pot assumes the load impedance is resistive. I'd have preferred a buffer stage (particularly since there's a spare op amp in the package unused). Distortion will be generated by mismatch in components, particularly the tracking on the stereo pot; they haven't specified close tolerances, and if the actual frequency is important (which it quite often is) you're going to have to borrow/hire a frequency counter to calibrate it.

Still, depending on your use (I certainly wouldn't choose this for looking for 0.05% distortion in an amp) it'll sound better than a function generator, and will be massively more stable and portable than the beat frequency oscillator that was the first low distortion signal source I used professionally.
Old 11th May 2013, 05:43 PM   #2652
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RNMarsh View Post
The Bible on contacts is: Electric Contacts by Ragnar Holm. Published by Springer-verlag.