Alignment Question for Machinists - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th January 2012, 12:59 AM   #1
Lavcat is offline Lavcat  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Alignment Question for Machinists

I have never used a cross table/x-y table before. This afternoon I mounted a cross table (Proxxon KT 150) to the base of my drill (Proxxon TBH). The table mounts with four bolts and nuts to the T-slots of the base.

I figure it is important that the direction of motion of table be square with respect to the base, but I'm not sure to what tolerance? I've not seen anything in books or online that speaks to this. What I believe is most important is that the direction of motion be square with respect to the work that is on the table.

But to check my table alignment I mounted a dial gauge on the column and indicated across the left to right range of motion. The surface I indicated does not look like a precisely ground surface, but it is the best that I saw on the back edge of the table. I was right on at both extremes, but I had a deviation of -3, +5 mils running across the travel.

I suspect that this alignment is quite good enough, and as good as I can get. But I'd love to have confimation from someone who knows about such things.

Edit: Bonus question -- what is a good oil to use for lubricating the table? 3-in-One oil?

Last edited by Lavcat; 24th January 2012 at 01:15 AM.
Old 24th January 2012, 01:13 AM   #2
tamu is offline tamu  Australia
diyAudio Member

I would say 8mil of difference is way too much. on the other hand it really depends on the job your doing too. if its just for rough jobs then it wont matter much but I would make sure its as square as possible. If it was me I would get it with in a couple of thous.