Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd November 2011, 03:45 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Tube Tester Recommendations

I am VERY new to the tube world so I need a lot of help.
Does anyone have recommendations for a tube tester? I don't have a lot of money to spend, $200-$500 preferred. I would like to avoid scratch building for now. something fairly recently calibrated would be nice but I know I may be pushing it with the budget limitations. My most pending needs are testing 12ax7 and kt88 family of tubes but I may need to test others as time goes on. Tube matching capability would be nice but I could live with just finding out if they are useable or not to begin with until I can do something better.

Thanks all ---
Old 8th November 2011, 01:24 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Find an old Hickok
Old 24th November 2011, 01:54 PM   #3
TV7 is offline TV7  Australia
diyAudio Member

My favourites are
TV-7D/U ( 3 units )
TV-2B/U ( 1 unit )
Triplett 3444 ( hopefully one day! )
Hickok 539B ( also on the wish list! )

My suggestion is the TV-7D/U, try and stay away from the TV-7 U versions as I have noticed the tendency for leaky transformers, and the the D/U has an extra scale 'F' which makes it more popular. Although you probably wont need it, and of course if you find a 'special' TV7 U then who am I to argue. Just make sure it has all three adapters, both plate and grid leads and test booklet. For good units look to be paying $600 - $900. May sound like much but it's an investment. More battered units can go for $300.
Hope this helps! good luck.
Old 24th November 2011, 02:42 PM   #4
diyAudio Member