Measurement Mic - USB Phantom Power? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th October 2011, 11:56 AM   #1
DrDyna is offline DrDyna  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Measurement Mic - USB Phantom Power?

Hey Guys!

I've been a hobbyist for a while now, but I think the time has come to get a decent starter measurement mic.

I've decided that I will get either the Dayton EMM-6 or the Behringer ECM8000.

I've been shopping around for phantom power supplies, and I've noticed there are several nifty looking USB ones, such as this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Microphon...543028&sr=1-11

How do you guys think the performance of one of these would be for accurate measurements? Does anyone have one?
Old 25th October 2011, 01:47 PM   #2
Pano is offline Pano  United States
diyAudio Moderator

That one works well. I bought one for a friend and he likes it a lot.
Short of getting a USB soundcard with phantom power, that's the way to go.
Old 25th October 2011, 02:54 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

That is what I was hoping, just making sure nobody said "No, it's response sucks!" Gonna grab it this week along with the EMM-6 I think.

Thanks very much Pano!
Old 25th October 2011, 03:19 PM   #4
Pano is offline Pano  United States
diyAudio Moderator

You're welcome. Let us know how it works out for you. It looks like a good option for a lot of folks who want to get into measuring.
Old 1st January 2012, 12:09 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

Just a quick follow up. I've got my hands on the EMM-6 and the Blue Icicle. I've been working on my tripod rig, which I think I have set the way I want it, with a log steel rod threaded at one end for mounting the microphone clip.