New To Multimeters - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Design & Build > Equipment & Tools

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th May 2011, 02:49 AM   #1
MinesJA is offline MinesJA  United States
diyAudio Member

Default New To Multimeters

Hi Guys,

So let me first just say I'm new to electronics and so the answers to some of these questions might seem pretty obvious to some of you. But googling has only gotten me so far on some of these question so here I am. I've been trying to figure out what's wrong with my 7250PE receiver that I picked up at a thrift store for $30. Long story short, a couple people suggested the reason the speaker outputs and headphone out might not work (where as the inputs and tape out does work) is because one or more of the output transistors might have shorted.

I've started testing them with my multimeter and haven't been getting the readings I've expected to.

So I wanted to ask, can I test output transistors while they're still attached to the board and heatsink or does that give me bad readings?

Also, with the diode test of my multimeter, I measured the four 2SD1715 NPN transistors I was told to check first and I only get an open circuit when I connect the positive terminal to the collector and the negative to the base, and when I connect the positive to the collector and the negative to the emitter. All other times I get readings ranging from .559 to 1.223. From doing some light googling, I learned that I should be getting an open circuit reading most of the time. What do you think I'm doing wrong, or what do you think that means?

Thanks!
Old 4th May 2011, 03:46 AM   #2
just another
diyAudio Moderator