Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Equipment & Tools From test equipment to hand tools

In circuit capacitor testers advice please.
In circuit capacitor testers advice please.
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th October 2017, 04:58 PM   #1
soul music is offline soul music  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default In circuit capacitor testers advice please.

Hi, I am an electronics novice wanting to repair a much loved 80's boombox. It was working perfectly for a few weeks after I cleaned the pots and switches, then it suddenly stopped working, no audio but tape goes round rewinds etc...lights light up, slight hum from speakers and speakers make the usual popping sound when it's switched on. Anyway I suspect one of the larger capacitors on the audio amp board may be the problem. I saw a video on YouTube demonstrating a MESR100 in circuit capacitor tester. I have a few questions about the tester before I buy one.
1 Could this tester damage other components in the boombox by testing capacitors in circuit?
2 Do all the capacitors in the circuit need discharging before testing or just the one that's being tested?
3 Can I discharge all the capacitors simply by switching boombox on with no power going to it?
4 If I do decide to buy a MESR100 tester do I go for the older model or V2 (version 2)?
Old 11th October 2017, 06:52 PM   #2
kaputt is offline kaputt  Germany
diyAudio Member

You can't test capacitors in circuit. You'll get a reading but it will be a reading of the capacitor plus the attached circuit.
Is there absolutely NO output? The only capacitor failure I can think of to cause that would be an open circuit output coupling cap.