QA190 and QA400 Gains

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to computer audio analysis, so please pardon the beginner nature of this question.

I am using a QuantAsylum QA400 with a QA190 differential input probe. Am currently running the probe in /100 mode with the voltage output into the QA400 and attempting to measure the output of a tube amp that I built.

Using my frequency generator and scope (the old fashioned way!) I know that the amp is putting out roughly 35W at the onset of sine wave clipping.

Now I'm trying to get the QA tools to more accurately tell me the output at a specific THD.

Here is where I'm running into issues. I'm not sure how to tell the QA400 software that I'm running a /100 probe. Would I set the dBV input gain to -40, or possibly I'm not on the right track?

Thank you in advance for your help!
-- Pete

sgtnoah.

This may not help, as I'm not sure.
What are your readings with your scope?
Are you calculating the 35w?
What is your Vp-p?
Where are you taking your measurements?
In the chain, etc.

More I'm not sure's. I'm not sure how that function
works but it sounds logical.

That said...with the QA400 you have to track your initial
dB down setting. For example if you start at -10dB from
a notch etc, you'd have to remember to remove that same
10dB from the final results.

I'm thinking with the 100x mode of the divider...that would
make two decimal place movements. Right? So you could
adjust your final reading by that. Should work okay.

Test it and see. I did a little wiki about the QA400 its in my blog.
Some information that will help with navigation and using menus
in the QA400.

If you can capture some of the screens you are working with
and post them here it will help everyone follow along.

Also for better accuracy with the QA400 I think 32000 average
is needed for better frequency readout accuracy.