Oscilloscope for a beginner

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,
sorry but i got lost in all the 3Ds talking of scopes and i have not been able to understand much.
I am a very beginner and without any real knowledge, so i need something easy to use.
My main, almost only, interest is to check the noise from some DIY power supplies up to 100 V for audio project (preamps).
So I suppose i do not need a big bandwidth, but maybe sensitivity ?
To start i would like a cheap but easy to use scope with a sub connection for the PC
I saw a Member recommending something like this one here

Hantek 6022BE PC-Based USB Digital Storag Oscilloscope 2Channels 20MHz 48MSa/s | eBay

As i said i need it only to check noise out from power supplies
And possibly the ability to generate a sweep 20-20.000 Hz would also be very very much appreciated
Thanks a lot and kind regards,
gino

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Easy one first. For a 20 to 20kHz sweep you can use "Audacity"

http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/soft...ing-using-audacity-get-you-started-guide.html

The scope I have no experience of other than to say that these cheap PCB based tools are of limited value compared even to a modest spec analogue scope. The spec mentions "input gain range" of 20mv to 5 volts. If that is an equivalent of "volts per division" then its limited. A typical analogue scope would go down to 1mv.

For the price though, they are very good and you will learn a lot.

Thank you very much indeed. I will study this immediately.

The scope I have no experience of other than to say that these cheap PCB based tools are of limited value compared even to a modest spec analogue scope.
The spec mentions "input gain range" of 20mv to 5 volts.
If that is an equivalent of "volts per division" then its limited.
A typical analogue scope would go down to 1mv.
For the price though, they are very good and you will learn a lot