My implementation of Ultra Low Noise Preamplifier and RMS Meter

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
@AndrewT
Is this properly?
If my coefficient is 1.1
3.62mVrms/1.1 = 3.29mVRMS
3.29mVrms/10000 = 329nVrms (Referred to Input) ?
That looks right, but I am not an expert on noise.
Can someone else confirm? Do we divide the measured value by 1.11, (I think we divide the measured result to allow for the over-read that the non brickwall allows).
or do we multiply the measured value by 1.11?

Table post15
the last column looks wrong.
The conversion from Vac to nVac is correct.
Now divide by the sqrt(100000) to give the nV/rtHz.
1.08 should be 1.14nV/rtHz
and divide by sqrt(20000)
1.22 should be 1.16nV/rtHz

Last edited:
I think we should то divide. As the filter slope is small so bandwidth wide. Wide bandwidth - great noise. See the link- relationship between Noise Bandwidth and 3dB Bandwidth for Butterworth Filter (page 101).
Data Conversion Handbook - Google

Table post15
the last column should be properly.

My mistake was that I did not explain. Excuse me for that. In the last column also considered and coefficient 1.11.
EnV (sqrt / Hz) = Vrms / SQRT (bandwidth*1.11)

EDIT Or perhaps more correctly is that:
EnV (sqrt / Hz) = (Vrms/1.11) / SQRT (bandwidth)
because the real noise at that filter is greater than the measured by coeff. 1.11

Last edited:
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Excellent work. And quite a lot of work. measuring noise with a spectrum analyzer is difficult when you don't know the noise bandwidth if the filter. The correction factors become pretty involved quickly. I'm lazy, I have an FFT analyzer that does the corrections internally for me and reads out in noise density rtHz. I think that is a missing feature in the ARTA etc. software.