Low-distortion Audio-range Oscillator

In the long-ago past, I've owned one or two osillators that used bulbs for the oscillator agc. One was an EICO 377. When in college, I built a switched-frequency bridged-T oscillator using a thermistor for the agc element. It worked fine, but back then I did not have really good instrumentation for measuring THD.

After I graduated with my BS, I leaned of JFETs and their use as voltage-controlled resistors. Shortly thereafter I discovered how HP used a distortion-reduction approach with JFETs as the AGC element in their oscillators (they fed back half the signal at the drain to the gate). Since then I've only built oscillators with JFETs.

However, I do wonder if the old Tungsten lamp approach was actually superior in some regards. I must admit I've never done an apples-apples comparison. One variable that must be kept the same for a fair comparison is settling time and distortion at low frequencies, like 20Hz.

Cheers,
Bob

Hi bob,

Is there something magic about the amount of feedback?
Is 1/2 ideal or convenient?
Is there a particular voltage/current for the lamp?

Thank you

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Hi Frex,
Thank you for looking into that. What you found makes perfect sense. I even had to order the extra 3 capacitors since I had ordered off the BOM originally.

Now, where to store the extra little stinkers? Garbage!, they are now used. Everything is easy once you think about it.

-Chris

Good thanks, I suspect the limits of this will be related to any number of things including the amplifiers. I admire the energy in doing THD at full scale but I still think bridge or other pre-nulling techniques will always win for raw numbers at a single frequency.

Hi Chris,

Did you fix the wrong thing? Post 5128.

The post that Scott referenced should read -92dBV for pic1 EMU @ 997Hz

Cheers,