Understanding Scope Trace Square Wave

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2008
Paid Member
I'm new to using a scope as diagnostic tool and would like to check my steps/ get some guidance. These shots are taken across the secondary of a preamp (10Y) line output transformer connected to the input of a 4 pole LC line level crossover with rated impedance of 5K Ohm. Am I right in thinking that the ringing from 2.5KHz. and up is caused by interaction of the inductors?
The 20Khz. Square is completely beyond me . . . . Can anybody help with some comments? Thanks.

Attachments

• DSCF2747.jpg
    DSCF2747.jpg
    590.2 KB · Views: 382
  • DSCF2753.jpg
    DSCF2753.jpg
    599.8 KB · Views: 357
  • DSCF2755.jpg
    DSCF2755.jpg
    562.9 KB · Views: 366
Here are a few basics for square wave testing, which is actually a form of pulse testing.

For best waveform quaility the output of your source generator should be terminated with it's characteristic output impedance. This is done at the far end of the coax cable where it meets the DUT. (device under test) An unterminated line will allow overshoot.

When testing a preamp (or any amp) it's output should be terminated in it's characteristic impedance with a non-inductive load resistor and nothing else. If unsure of the required output impedance, choose a typical working impedance that is reasonable. External L's and C's will grossly affect the waveform giving false indications of it's performance.

Now, the severe tilt at 100Hz is because your scope is rolling it off. Set the scope input to DC coupling. The drooping will flatten out.