First scope/buying oscilloscope probes

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I just bought my first scope!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=260308554503
I know I took a slight risk on it as it's untested, but there is a return policy and all and I think I got an ok deal I feel pretty good about it. I tried to buy a popular model too so that if something is wrong I can hopefully get some support for it.
It appears that it only has one probe though, so I'd like to get another. What should I look for? I'm pretty broke. Are the 20 dollar probes on eBay bad? What should I look for spec wise? I'm not quite sure how to go since I'm new to scopes.

Cheers and thanks!

Yeah, I know that is better to see that it works...but I feel like I saved some money by taking this risk. There is the return policy too, which is pretty good. The seller looks reputable, so I trust that it turns on. If there are some small flaws with it though I think I'll probably try and fix it myself.

Cheers

If it is used equipment, there is a possibility that it may need re-calibrated. But then there is a possibility that it doesn't work at all......e-bay:rolleyes: I hope that isn't the case. Buying used equipment is a great way to save money.

Does anyone have a working used spectrum analyzer they wouldn't mind parting with?:)

rockgardenlove said:

It appears that it only has one probe though, so I'd like to get another. What should I look for? I'm pretty broke. Are the 20 dollar probes on eBay bad? What should I look for spec wise? I'm not quite sure how to go since I'm new to scopes.

The original probes supplied with the 2235 were Tek P6109's. However a P6121 or P6122 will also match up. And I've used the older modular Tek P6105 probes also. The input is 1 megohm w/20pF capacitance. A 1 megohm input is very standard and most aftermarket probes will work with this input.