RESEARCH: On DIY LCD Projector (reflective method)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello friend :cool:

I am a Computer Engineer and searching websites for past six months to get an idea/plan of making my own LCD video projector. For this, I have purchased a 5.6 inches color LCD monitor and tried to follow the plan with diagrams as given by Bill Saunders on the page:

"http://www.audiovisualizers.com/madlab/lcd_proj.htm"

But the results were NIL and I got depressed. Now that I see that so many bright people out there in this forum have already tried so much; so I feel motivated to re-work on idea.

I have encountered following problems: - :confused:
-------------------------------------------------

1) Since the concept of projector is based on direct reflection method and not on transmissive method, I am hardly able to project picture of LCD screen (even in the darkest room) - all I can see on the wall after projection, is a lot of bright light coming from the lamp or the image of lamp itself. I was using white halogen lamp (75 watt).

2) So I decided that I won't use additional light source and experiment with just the backlight of LCD monitor alone in the dark room. A convex lens of dia 50 mm and focal length 10 cm was used and what I found is that full area of visible 5.6 inch LCD screen could not be converged for projection and a lot of spherical aberration was just diffusing the image to make matters worse! Then I even tried lens from old OHP (dia=100 mm, f=30 cm)but in vain,

I would be very grateful to you if you could suggest me some solutions to these problems. (I don't want to open up my LCD monitor and remove the backlight for transmissive method)

Any new plan/drawings or ideas will be most welcome and I would like to discuss and appreciate the same!!

Hope to get your reply soon.

Thanks and Bye,

Er. Ashish Dutt.