Replacing a Laser Assembly???

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
How easy or hard is it to replace a laser assembly??

I ahve a Sony CD Player and it dates back to 99 and while i am in there doing some repairs and have the transport mech torn apart, i was considering replacing the laser assembly.

A quick check of MCM electronics shows to have the KSS-521 assembly in stock for a reasonable price. and it looks like it would be an easy enough replacement. but are those modules from MCM drop in? or do they need some sort of calibration or alignment???

The laser assembly comes with the laser block mounted to the sled so it appears i could just replace the whole sled easy enough if they are pre calibrated etc??

I have never worked on CD players to this depth before.

Zc

We replace Lasers all the time everyday at my shop. Alignment and calibration info is best referenced to the service manuals for your player, as it all depends on the manufacturer and the circuitry.

The early Sony/Kenwood decks needed at least a average O-scope to check and cal certain signals like Free run frequency and such, and a laser power meter to verify proper laser power levels.

But things are simpler these days according to my buddies that do this everyday for a living.

If you have never done this , please at least get a full service manual to study before you take the dive off the end of the pier to do this IMO.

hope this helps:)