Synchronous Reclocker. Feedback please

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Nothing new here. I'm a novice trying to build a synchronous reclocking circuit for my twin tda1541a unbalanced DAC. Input appreciated. Draft Schematic attached.

Goal:
- Place an 11.2896 XO in external DAC that's fed back to transport
- transport generates bck, lrclk and sdata (assume i2s for the moment)
- In the external dac, these signals get re-synched using 74hc74
- original 11.2896 also drives this reclocking circuit (or "re-synch")
- this is a synchronous connection

I recognize there might be better/preferred ways to accomplish this, but I would appreciate feedback on whether the attachment reflects the stated goal above

Thanks in advance..

Attachments

• synchronous reclocker.pdf
    15.1 KB · Views: 349
This should work as long as the setup and hold times of the HC74 flip-flops are not violated and the signal voltage levels from the SB are all 5V. If they are 3.3V, then you need to level-shift to 5V. Also, you will need transmission-line terminations at the SB end for the clock input and at the DAC end for the I2S signals, as well as appropriate impedance-matched cables for all of these.

The setup and hold times could be violated even if you change the lengths of the clock and I2S cables. Better to use a buffering scheme so that there are no timing issues and the relationship between the clock coming into the SB and the I2S coming into the DAC are decoupled. My Pace-Car does this BTW.

Steve N.

This should work as long as the setup and hold times of the HC74 flip-flops are not violated

OH, OK, regarding the cable length and buffering. Your Pace-Car sounds like a dream! I'll research a buffering scheme.

If they are 3.3V, then you need to level-shift to 5V

Do I need to do this for the 1541 Dac's sake? I read that