Soundcard or Dac?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am looking to upgrade my PCs sound quality. I am using a Creative Xfi sound card right now which I got from a friend for free, this was before I had any plans for using my PC for high quality music playback. Now that ive made the switch, over to PC based playback, I need something better sounding. I tried the Zhaolu 2.5 dac I use in my main system connected to the Xfi spdif output and wasn't happy with the results, I guess the Xfi digital output is not very good. So im thinking that either a usb dac or better sound card is the way to go. Being a poor college student my budget is pretty small at $200 which definitely narrows my options quite a bit. On top of my list right now is the Emu 1212m and Scott Nixon usb dac kit. I have heard the Emu 0404 in my friends setup and liked it very much, I would think the 1212m is at least as good if not a little better. But I haven't heard the Scott Nixon dac so I am leaning towards the EMU. They are pretty close in price, but it seems you get alot more for your money with the Emu. Your getting a good quality DAC and ADC, optical, coax and optional word clock digital I/O....etc. All that stuff is nice to have, but im more interested in the sound quality. So if anyone has heard both please lets hear your feedback. Also is there any potential to mod the EMU. Ive seen some people doing basic cap and opamp upgrades on their 0404 but not on the 1212m. Also if you guys have any other ideas that would be great.
Thanks

Yes use one of these.
The AK4396 is a killer Dac.

Here is my post from AA:

"Inspired by Presto, I was tempted to try digital crossover via PC and
searched for a suitable soudcard.
I googeled for reviews and stumbled on a few very encouraging reviews on the fairly new Bluegears b-inspirer.
After reading the specs I was amazed that it used the highly regarded