Could somone please check my KC Protoboard?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first time doing something just from the schematics. Unfortunately I don't have no other than basic knowledge in electronics so it took me days to figure this out alone...:bawling:

I wonder if I have done it correctly. I am opened to all suggestions.

Thanks!

Attachments

• kwak-clock-pcb.gif
    kwak-clock-pcb.gif
    81.7 KB · Views: 369
Hi Bassivus,

Looking briefly at it, it looks good.
Glad you're thinking about star earth.
I knocked up a kwak clock quite roughly recently and started looking at the power rails with a scope to see the effects of ground bounce and ended up with nearly every component leg straight to the star ground.
(eg, r2, x1, c6 r1, r12 would each have a wire from the ground leg straight to the ground star point).
Also, it might help to have capacitance (at least c4 and c15) placed closer to the comparator, if you can.

Hope this helps, but what you have will probably work well (I've built a few before without any care to layout and they work quite well)

Cheers,
Phil

Hi, How fast is the clock running if it is > 10MHz then the star earth topology you are using is probably not the most appropriate as the signal will follow is the field between the out bound path and the return path. In this situation a ground grid is usually better (basically this just means connect the grounds together in as many locations as possible to reduce the return ground impedance as far as possible and provide the sortest return path possible)- or if possible the logical extension for this a ground plane. At the very least I would connect from R12 accross to the ground on the driver chip so there is a return path for the curent from the oscillator that does not have to try to flow though the PSU ground.