Providing Digital Out to a Nakamichi OMS-5EII - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th August 2006, 03:37 PM   #1
Salar is offline Salar  Germany
diyAudio Member

Default Providing Digital Out to a Nakamichi OMS-5EII

Hello,
a year ago, I asked for help in upgrading my 20 year old OMS-5EII with a digital output. Jobst and Ray were very kind to help me with tips and Ray even did sent me a schematic. But I am an absolute amateur! I am working as a film editor, sounddesigner, sometimes cameraman, sometimes field recordist, so I have some technical skills in keeping the gear running and how to solder tiny pieces together, but that´s it. Only a voltmeter at hand and a soldering iron.
In the meantime, i got a service manual from the Sony CDP-552ESDII, which used the same digital LSI as the Nak (CX23035) but provided digital out. (the Sony was the first consumer player in the market with digital out) So I had double information.
But some namings of the pins of CX23035 differ, I hope, it is only a matter of non-common terms 20 years ago and not a programmable LSI.
I drew a schematic based on Ray´s using scans from the service manuals and additional parts (i.e. DIT4192) in order to learn the real world layout of the pins.
Could anybody check this schematic? Again, i am an amateur...
My schematic is a .pdf but it is too big (1MB) for attaching it to this post.
So please feel free to email me:
salar at snafu dot de

About the schematic:
I am not sure, wether the connections between the Digital LSI and the digital transmitter are correct. Also, there is one octal buffer (74HC244) implemented, which might not be needed.