USB DAC - ground isolation - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th July 2006, 03:48 AM   #1
pho_boi is offline pho_boi  Australia
diyAudio Member

Default USB DAC - ground isolation

Hi everyone!

I currently own a Behringer UCA202 USB DAC.

http://www.behringer.com/UCA202/index.cfm?lang=ENG

It uses the Burr Brown PCM2902 chip which features SPDIF output. Currently it has an optical output and I am thinking of modifying it so that it would output through coax.

I'm not very experienced in electronics, but after looking at the datasheet for the PCM2902 it seems as though I can just cut the traces from DOUT and attach an RCA socket to that pin.

Some more googling reveals that its best to isolate the gnd on the digital. I then found a schem on hagtech for the hagusb, which uses a small transformer to do this.

http://www.hagtech.com/images/hagusbschem.gif

Does anyone in Australia know where to get a small transformer like that? I know you can get them from Digkey, but not sure if its worth paying shipping on a single item.

And what should I be looking for when trying to find a small transformer to do this?

Is the IS0150 from TI a good way to isolate gnd?

I'm not even sure if it's worth modding, but its something I'd like to do for fun

Thanks for reading!!
Old 7th July 2006, 02:05 PM   #2
macboy is offline macboy  Canada
diyAudio Member