Loading on Marantz CD94 MkII

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've just bought an example of this classic on eBay. It plays perfectly and sounds fantastic - after some very expensive modern kit, I've yet to find anything that sounds more natural and entertaining...

Anyhow - back to the point...

To load a CD, you need to press the play button and give the drawer a helping hand to close. It then rattles around for a bit, before flashing DISC and reading the TOC.

To repair it, do I need to replace the belts, lubricate the mechanism, replace the laser, replace the whole CDM1 mechanism? Or what??

I've searched the forum and seen all of these solutions mentioned, but not specifically in relation to a loading problem.

(I'm a newbie - in case you hadn't guessed. It's great to a have found this place. I knew I wasn't the only geek in the world...):D

Peter Daniel said:
The belts seem to be a common problem with that unit, I had to replace them already twice, especially after a period of not using it for a while. If you need a schematic, send me an e-mail.

Peter, rubber belts don't last long, it's normal to have to change them regularly.
Depends very much on the type of belt and the load it has to take on a specific mechanism, and it can even depend on the climate on your area...
They also tend to have 'memory' (I don't know how to explain this better in english...) when the device is not regularly used.
Can you think about a worse place to use a rubber belt than a turntable? :D
And then they say direct drive sucks... :rolleyes:

RUBBER BELTS

To get replacement belts cheap:

A bearing supply will carry a very large selection of O-rings
with a very large size range.