Aaaargh silence from my Arcam CD player

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I purchased an Arcam Alpha 5 CD with a tricord clock 3 upgrade from ebay a couple of months ago and have been listening happily since then. However yesterday I put on a CD and got nothing but silence (a slight hissing in fact). I checked everything out and discovered it was the CD player at fault.

Everything looks OK on the display - it shows the track playing and the time and I can hear the CD drive spinning but no sound comes out...

Does anyone have any suggestions about how I might diagnose the problem and possibly repair it. I am not an electronics expert but was able to recently repair an Arcam Amp with a blown output stage with the help from the guys on this forum...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions...

Sean Kenwrick

We meet again

Hi Sean

The first thing I would check it that you have power going to the audio board and that the voltages are correct. The supply to the audio board should be +/-25V. You can also check that the mute circuit is working properly.

Do you have the service manual? As you know, you can get it from Arcam - otherwise, I can send you a copy.

Fin

Hi Fin,

Thanks for the response (how you getting on with your Arcam Delta by the way?).. Do you have a copy of the service manual in digital form? IF so could you please send it to me at s.kenwrick@btinternet.com

I seem to be plagued with bad luck with this new setup - first blowing the output stage of my arcam delta 290, now this! Luckily I have a spare Marantz CD player which is nearly as good as the Arcam Alpha5.

Anyway I will open up the box later today and try and get an idea about what is what. I have never looked inside a CD player before so perhaps you could talk me through what I should be measuring in more detail.....

Thanks in advance
Sean

Hi Sean