I am a NOOB and i want to do a 1794 DAC!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 7th December 2005, 04:35 AM   #1
JinMTVT is offline JinMTVT  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default I am a NOOB and i want to do a 1794 DAC!!

ok i know nothing about all that ..but i just wanna do some crazy 3d electronic scultptures, and i want it to actually do something!

So this is my next project!

With my almot NONE knowledge about electronics and DACs , i will be building a 1794 DAC for my headphone amplifier!

so i went to look out for info from TI.com

http://focus.ti.com/lit/ug/sleu037/sleu037.pdf

is this their evaluation board?

i guess that one could only use the needed parts from this and make a few simple changes ?

Is that a good design to start with ?
I want it to be as simple as possible!

so what do i need to do this ?

CS8414 ( that's the input chip ? )
PCM1794 ( a few of em, since i might just burn some )

is the output stage correct in this schematic ?

wtf are UA1-7 supposed to be ?
i guess that they arne't just sockets right ?
the triangle pointing right with +- are op amps right?
what to put there?

So you guys think that i can do it or not ?

should be a nice project for a noob as me
hehe

What do you recommend to do for output if i want to use this with Peranders QVR-02 or 07 headphone amplifier?

i'll start ordering chips as soon as someone can tell me what should i use for UA1-7

also why they do 2 output ? 4.5VRMS and 2VRMS?
what to use ?

thanks all
Old 7th December 2005, 01:14 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Some of us here are fairly new too.