DIY USB-1543 Dac Kit Help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all. I'm a total newb to DIY but have just ordered by first project. Its a DIY USB-1543 DAC Kit, the AW-D# on this site: http://www.audioworkshop.com.hk/index_en.htm

I've been searching the site for possibe upgrades to this before I put it together. Here are some thoughts I've had:

1. External power supply for the DAC Section. Battery use the regulator section built into the board? I get the impression that battery will be best, but I'm afraid that it will be harder for me to implement correctly.

2. DAC Paralleling. Seems like 8x1543 will result in excellent performance. I think it should work although I'm worried about the amount of power that will be needed for the tower. I guess adding a better power supply for the DAC section will be necessary if I go that route.

3. I/V conversion. I honestly have no clue on how this is setup on this board. I get the impression that passive IV works best. Is this a good implementation? Any suggestions on how to improve. I'll like use hookup wire to connect to RCA's rather than use the included RCA's.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Aha, these kits are in now.

I've built several 2706 based DACs from scratch, one of which uses an 8X stacked 1543. It sounds quite good (better than anything else I'd ever had). You can do better although that takes a LOT more effort.

I would recommend building it stock (external RCAs are fine) and letting things burn in and get familiar with the stock sound before making changes. Definately build it with the esternal supply powering the DAC.

The changes I would make are:

running the 2706 off the external supply, getting it off the USB bus is a big improvement. Its a very simple change to make so I would keep it stock, then make the change later.