CD player vs. computer soundcard - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 24th April 2005, 08:13 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to youyoung21147
Question CD player vs. computer soundcard

I'm a beginner in diy audio and I only built my own speakers till now.

As a source, i use my laptop's soundcard, which is the simplest intel integrated audio chipset.
The result on my fostex FX120 is already excellent, but I thought the same about my old speakers before hearing the Fostex

I would like to know what is the best audio player for winXP, because I felt a huge difference between wmp7 and wmp10 concerning the sound. I saw in the forum that some people like the quicktime player and I'm testing it right now;

Another thing I'd like to know is : what is the best choice between an external soundcard and a cd/dvd player such as the pioneer DV575AS in order to achieve the most audiophile result ?
I read an article in a computer magazine that shows great numbers about soundcards, like 97dB S/N ratio or 0,0001% THD but the sound quality and detail level cannot be compared with numbers.
I'd like not to spend more than 150 $ on such peripherals so please let me know about your experiences !
Old 25th April 2005, 03:46 PM   #2
foo is offline foo  Tibet
diyAudio Member

try 1212M soundcard and use foobar2000 as player
with ASIO output and maximum buffer.
you will tell the difference then .
By the way , give up compressed files . They suck .
Use Wav files instead .
Old 25th April 2005, 08:18 PM   #3
diyAudio Member