Marantz CD63 & CD67 mods list

Hi,

sorry to jump in when this thread seems to have come such a long way but I am a novice looking to install an external clock (rockclock) and external psu:).

I have generic instructions but can anyone give some more specific instruction on the cd63 mkII ki sig? What do I physically need to do to the existing clock set-up and where exactly do I take the power supply for the psu from. Pictures would be very useful!

thanks

Hi, Would need a bit more info. Do you have the PSU for the clock already or are you just looking to install the clock 1st? Do you have a copy of the service manual? If not, get it from Rays pages (see 1st entry in this thread) then we can point a components on the board for you. Let us have as much info as poss and we'll help! :)

stevief

thanks for the response.

Yes I have the psu so am looking to install both together. I have the service manual from ray's pages.

Think I know what to do with the psu (from ray's pictures)but its what to remove exactly and where to connect the external rockclock.

I will then probably install opamps and bypass the hdam as talked about in the early stages of this thread.

thanks again

Hi, Ray's website is really a gold mine,
Ray's Audio Page
Remove U196 and feed your clock here re-using the free hole near the center of the player. Remove CD02/CD03 and use a ground here, outside hole.

As for me I made the first regulated drivers in a CD-43... wich I don't know how to call, 53 or 43... can't hear if it's better with the other parts being OEM. I'm hoping the heatsink will be enough...

Attachments

• DSC00191.jpg
    DSC00191.jpg
    204.2 KB · Views: 211
Pretty much as Matthieu said with the clock!

Another source of info is here acoustica.org.uk: modifying the Marantz CD63, part 1.