Marantz CD63 & CD67 mods list

Mauro

My observation was not directed to criticyse your fine work.

I am not a professional so I must rely on others experiences before I try anything.

I was just testing the forum to see if anyone had already tryed your technique and maybe get some practical advise.

Folowing your previous comment i understand that with your modd I will get lower noise and not affect the audio response.

I will try this modd and report back to you.

Tanks, Ricardo.
Now I understand your thought....:)
I had sensed that the reasons for modify could not be well understood.
The important thing is that you know the reason for this change, then is not mandatory that you make the change or you like it, this is a subjective choice.

Good work.

ciao

Mauro

Joined 2006
Paid Member
mauropenasa said:

The pass band amplitude, phase, and group delay it's one problem, and my modify have on this one limited impact (some like bessel filter solution), but the problem it's the attenuation over 300khz, some Ineffective in the bessel or "group delay correction" and dozens dB in my propose.
This reflected in low side band harmonics (audio band).
Hi Mauro

I am sorry if I caused some misunderstanding.

Just tryed your mod with a 390pF Silver mica and the sound became more clear without the treble "fizz" that sometimes makes voices and guitars to be edgy.

I find your modd very important.

Can I use a 330pF Silver Mica instead of the polystyrenes you indicated ?

Thank you for the very good advise.

Ricardo

Thank you for your test, Ricardo.

I used a 330pF silver mica on my prototype, during the tests.
I think we can also use this type of material, or COG ceramic multilayer...

As shown in the graphs, and also noted Ray, It's better not go beyond 330pF if you do not want to attenuate at 20Khz.

In some cases you can do a value between 220pF and 330pF ...
(Especially if you are using a modified output filter or with not original
shape....)

ciao

Mauro