Marantz CD63 & CD67 mods list

hi guys noob here. i have this cd player trying to upgrade but it already has super grade capacitors!! any cheap but effective mods any can recommend? cheers h

Attachments

• IMG_9720.jpg
    IMG_9720.jpg
    343.6 KB · Views: 280
  • IMG_9721.jpg
    IMG_9721.jpg
    230.5 KB · Views: 269
  • IMG_9722.jpg
    IMG_9722.jpg
    229.1 KB · Views: 271
there is so much information i dont know where to begin. i want to start by upgrading the op amps. whats the best/cheapest? cheers

As much as I like this thread ...this thing is grown so big that it is almost impossible to read through that thing and recognizing every change or good information. A few weeks back it tried to find the Voltages for a custom transformer...took me a while:scratch:

We need a new thread as "table of contents":eek:

Im not sure but http://www.raylectronics.nl/pdfs/CD63mkII-KI_mods.pdf could be the most recent.

Ray's Audio Page <- best website - begin with that. Download a mod list - you will find some "partremoving" moddifications. They will cost you nothing but time. I started with them, too.

Voltage Regulators are cheap and they will gain a good improvement.

I.m.h.o. the highest impact on sound will have the opamp replacement. (I went for the bb opa627- but this doesnt have to be the best version- some others have found good and cheaper opamps )

Adding some wimas here and there as bypassing caps will help aswell.

Last edited:
Couple of comments:
- I seriously doubt that random bypassing with WIMAs improves anything. In fact, I'm personally convinced that it can be detrimental.
- Best and cheapest are most likely mutually exclusive qualities.