Jitter in DAC. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Source & Line > Digital Source

Digital Source Digital Players and Recorders: CD , SACD , Tape, Memory Card, etc.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th August 2001, 11:05 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Hi,

I am new to this. Anyway, I have a question in my mind.
I am going to built a audio DAC with a built in jitter attenuator. My question is, can I use a high speed FIFO and a low jitter clock to do it?

This is how I am going to implement. All the Bit, Data and L/R clks will be clocked into FIFO using recovered Master Clock [ from CS8414 ], and then the clocks will be clocked out from FIFO using a clean and low jitter oscillator. All the clocks will later feed into digital filter.

So, do you think this scheme will work?

What is the advantage of using FIFO over the convention method -> PLL?

Thank you.
Old 6th August 2001, 06:57 PM   #2
hifi is offline hifi  Sweden
diyAudio Member

maybe not an answer...but why dont you use Cs8420 with uppsampler....im currently building a dac with that chip a 3ps clock and cs43122, transformercoupled output..

iŽll get back with some results shortly...

/micke
Old 7th August 2001, 11:15 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

Hi Micke,

Thanks for the reply.

But the thing is that I have all the necessary parts already. PCM1704, DF1704, DIR1701 and etc. It is a bit too late for me to change the design and I want to go for 96KHz only.

Anyway, what is your source of your 3ps oscillator?

ghee0
Old 7th August 2001, 12:54 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Hi ghee0,

I think that a FIFO can be used ONLY if you can control the source of the samples:

If you use separate clocks for read and write, they will have slightly different frequency :
If the reading clock is slower than the writing clock, the FIFO will sooner or later get FULL and you will lose samples.