Build an Apex based CD player..harddrive??

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First off, I'm no digital expert. B: I'm not a software/firmware writer, and 3: well, I dunno.

For a while I was selling modified Apex DVD players. These players basically circumvented copyright protection. This was done with a simple firmware upgrade. I made a few bucks but don't do it anymore.

Why is this of interest? You may ask...who cares. Maybe nobody but I'm gonna share anyway.

There are several Apex players of concern: AD600a, AD660, AD500(no letter with drive on the bottom), AD500w, and a NEW 'Jinxing' brand player that is identical to the AD500w that has been on the market recently. These are just the ones I have had experience with..there are others and different brands as well.

These players have an IDE interface that works perfectly well with most PC drives, this includes CD rom drives too. So what?

With the right firmware a Hard drive can be added as a slave. This firmware is a derivation of the Sampo dve631cf firmware that had a card reader. There is also software provision to SLOW A CD ROM DOWN to 1x..2x.....

These players have a terrible smps and frankly don't sound very good..or look too good either. Well, where does that leave us on the subject?

How about taking the mainboard with the upgraded eprom installed and sticking it into a nice solid chassis. Upgrade the hell out of the psu or build a new one. Integrate the Apex display, rf receive, and front panel buttons. Install a quality cd rom drive and a removable hard drive(slide out) that you can jockey to and from your PC.