I would appreciate your help in troubleshooting my dac.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
My Perpetual Technologies dac P3A decided to take a turn for the worst.One channel is distorting.I put ascope on the + input to the I/V stage and I got the following image.Now I am not a digital expert and I was wondering what to do next in terms of diagnosing the problem.Do you think it is possible that the cs4397 or one of the other main chips is responsible and can this be replaced-how can you desolder smd?

Attachments

• 102_0294.zip
    62.2 KB · Views: 91
This is the dac naked.

Attachments

• 102_0290_2.jpg
    102_0290_2.jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 460
DAC fault finding

Hi Protos,

Your photo of the positive input to the I/V converter is pretty meaningless and will not help with fault finding.
This is because this circuit is a) a differential to single-ended filter, NOT a current to voltage conversion stage, and b) differential so measuring half of the signal is useless.

I suggest you (if possible) measure both simultaneously and subtract the negative signal from the positive... This will then show you the actual signal which would then be filtered by the circuit. Compare this to the output. if it is the same the DAC is at fault.

Check that all signals are present and accounted for. Check that they make sense. i.e. that fBCK is 64xfLRCK. Find, or source a single tone to the DAC (test cd etc) and listen to the distortion. Is it ticking (indicates a clocking error) or is it a distortion that looks vaguely sinusoidal (indicates a problem with the analog output stage).
Is anything getting hot? As this indicates several things (HF oscillation, clocking, an internal fault etc).

Good luck with it!!

apollyon25

Hi Protos,

I modified one of these Perpetual Technologies dac P3A couple of years ago. They run HOT, so you may have some cold solder points on the PCB.