Mod/upgrade NAD C 541i

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Haven't posted in these fora before, so let me introduce me on the fly.

I'm a project manager with a chemical and IT background, and some basic knowledge about DIY-electronics (I'm capable of soldering passive components without frying them too much).

So far I've been living quite happily in the Netherlands, but plan on moving (emigrating is a better word) to the US early spring 2005.

I own a NAD C 541i CD-player that I'm quite content with and plan on bringing too. From what I learned from the support manual, modifying the player to 110 Volts is pretty straightforward since the trafo and board are prepared for this (cutting a bridge and making another).

Now I figured that, while I'm in there, I might as well do some tweaking (clock, DAC, caps?). The 541i has a Burr-Brown 24 Bit Sigma Delta DAC (PCM1732).

Here is where I would like some advice/guidance. What would be relatively simple and cost-effective upgrades? I think I would be able to build a simple DAC for instance, but except a DMM I have no equipment to do measurements (like a scope, although I wouldn't know what I would be looking for anyway). Thanks in advance.

BTW: support manual (1.5 MB PDF) available on request

NAD C541i modification

Hi Mosez,

I have a NAD C541i too and one day I'll likely do some modifications to it. As I have never ever done any mods to a CD player it will be my first and it will be later rather than sooner. At the moment I am collecting parts for the Stochino Amp and plan to built the first two units by the end of January so I'll be very busy until then and afterwards I have even a bigger project on my mind and afterwards another two Stochino units so I don't think I'll open the NAD earlier than in the late 2006. Si it looks that I will be using your experience in this venture.