Xbox optical to Super DAC 2496?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, guys!
First time here for me, and I'm pretty new to the entire hi-fi thingy, so please excuse my lack of knowledge (though I am happy for any tips and further knowledge).

My setup today looks like this:

CD-player: Denon DN-650F
Amplifier: Perception Audio Sansaar
DVD-player, gaming console: Microsoft Xbox

The CD-player is connected via balanced cables to the amp.
The Xbox is connected via analouge RCA.

I recently aquired a M-Audio Super DAC 2496 that I was thinking to use as following:

CD-player via coaxial SPDIF to the Super DAC.
Xbox via optical cable to the Super DAC.
Super DAC to the amp via balanced cables.

The CD-player works great, and the sound is wonderful!

But the xbox-signal is completely ignored: the "Valid Data" LED on the DAC does not light up, and no sound is heard. I tried connecting it to my minidisc player instead of the DAC and it works fine. I get the signal in stereo and it works.

I inquired the official Xbox support (I thought that perhaps it was a bitrate issue) where they gave the answer that they have no information regarding any technical specifications on the console, and that "as long as there is signal in both ends of the cable it should work fine". My reaction to this was the very fine abbreviation "WTF?" :confused:

So hence I turn to you guys. Please help me!

wytco0 said:
I dont know much about this but is that DAC capable of decoding DVD data?

Pardon for not saying it earlier, but the Video data is going through a scart-cable with an adapter on it that separate the Audio to the optical cable.

Thus, only audio is signalled through the optical TosLink. The video/DVD-data goes through a separate scart.

Originally posted by Whistler
<snip>
But the xbox-signal is completely ignored: the "Valid Data" LED on the DAC does not light up, and no sound is heard.
<snip>