Pic16f84

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hy all
I'm just starting to learn something about microcontrollers.I need some help from you regarding a PIC 18f84.I don't have a professonal programmer , but i wanted to ask you if you have some equivalent skematic that can make the same thing. I want to know also how do i copy the hex file from the PC into the MCU's memory
All the best , and thanks for your help.:smash:

Make or buy?

If you go to the Microchip seminars (I assume that they have them in Belgium or Holland) they give you a PIC-Start programmer for free -- you can download the most recent version of MPLAB from their website.

I use the MELABS serial programmer and the PIC-Basic Pro compiler -- it really saves time. There is a lower end version of PicBasic which sells for $49. I would also suggest that you listen along on the PIC-LIST -- access to which can be found on the MELABS website.

Programmers can also be built pretty inexpensively -- I am sure that your local library has back issues of Elektor -- they seem to have an article on building a programmer for the PIC's or AVR's every few months.

There's so much on the pic micro you will never read it all. I bought a programmer because cheap ones that use the parallel port cann't be used in Windows XP (well I couldn't get it to work, even with "Allow IO").

I got the serial/usb one, here that works very well with Microchip's MPlab.
There are so many out there, this is another. I bought his book "programming and customising...." but this stuff gets in the way of my audio projects.:D I intend to update my remote control with a PIC one day though.:)

Hi audiopt
The link doesn't work for me. Is it just me? maybe I'm jinxed.:xeye: